Successfully upgraded TFS 2010 from Beta 2 to RC on EC2


Once again I have my TFS instance on EC2 up to date, and I’m able to connect to it successfully from my Visual Studio 2010 RC instance here at home. One word of advice though; once you install VS2010 RC, VS seems to crash if you then try to install Team Explorer 2010 Beta 2 so make sure your code is all checked in before the upgrade, otherwise won’t be able to make this available to anyone else on your team until the process is complete!

I was surprised that I didn’t run into a few issues as part of this process, but the upgrade was fairly painless – thanks mostly to the TFS 2010 Beta 2 to RC Upgrade Guide posted by Brian Krieger. I ran into a bit of trouble setting up SSRS and WSS again … but that was my own fault, not an issue with the upgrade process (I’d forgotten the credentials I’d used last time … L).

The good news though is that now seems to be working, including my old VS2010 Beta 2 solution files which opened without any issues or the need for an upgrade. 

I did come across a breaking change in the TFS APIs. It would seem that the TeamFoundationServer class no longer supports the AuthorisedIdentity property (in fact the TeamFoundationServer class has now been depreciated in favor of TeamProjectCollection). Changing the reference to use TeamProjectCollection.AuthorizedIdentity seems to have resolved the problem, and everything is building again.

Author: Nick Hoggard

An architect working with the Microsoft development stack, my real interest lies in how we can utilise the tools we have to continuously improve our processes and quality.

Leave a Reply

